Ooooooooohhhh… New Books

Our favourite day at the Hamilton and Alexandra College Library has arrived! Its Lamont book delivery day. Mrs. Smith, Mrs. Simkin and myself literally look at the boxes and wait for someone to make the first move and open them up. As usual we have not been disappointed. The selection of picture books is top notch and I have busily devoured (don’t worry, only with my eyes – I don’t like the taste of paper) all of them this afternoon so I could fill you in on what goodies await you.

Stanley – Colin Thompson

This is a very cute book about a dog and his human, Gerald. The book starts off telling you about their (rather lonely) existence together, but as the book goes on life dramatically changes for Stanley and Gerald. If you are up for a funny story with a lovely ending, this is a great one for you! It is also a wonderful story for blended families who would like to tell their children a positive story about coming together as a new family.

Regardless of the content, the illustrations are outstanding and reading the book makes you feel all warm and fuzzy inside.

Something Wonderful – Raewyn Caisley & Karen Blair

 

This book reminds me of my childhood; avoiding chores, being outdoors, building, deconstructing, getting in a little bit of trouble, but ultimately just have a lot of fun. This book should be mandatory reading for anyone (like me) who has raised kids in the city and then moved to the country. I know it makes me sound old, but this is how kids should grow up! Having an imagination, creating things that they KNOW are useful, and having parents who are always waiting to see what their child is going to come up with next. Maybe this book could give our students some weekend project ideas!

Chip – Kylie Howarth

 

We have all done it, gone for Fish & Chips, sat in the park for a nice, quiet picnic and BAM the seagulls arrive. Well, lets take a step back and look at it from the perspective of the poor seagull.

This book is a cute story with a good message about how to treat wild animals properly – even a seagull. Chip could teach us all something about resilience, ingenuity and animal care.

Hattie Helps Out – Jane Godwin & Davina Bell

It seemed that at the time of reading this book my eyes wanted to leak… must have been something in the air. Mums, you seriously have to read this book. It pretty well sums up motherhood in a handful of pages. If you, like me, have two little kids at home, you may also find that you feel a little, ummmmm, wet around the eye balls, when you read it (or maybe I am just a big softy).

This is a gorgeous story of Hattie who wants desperately to help her mum plan for a birthday party rather than have a nap. The illustrations make an amazing story even more realistic. Kids can hear this story and learn lessons about being kind and helpful, parents will read it and relate, and grandparents would probably have fond memories of their own children come bubbling to the surface. I will officially say this one is good for anyone from 0-110 years of age. I think I am going to go and buy one for myself!

Archie no ordinary sloth – Heath McKenzie

 

Are you sometimes the odd one out? Do you feel like you are just a little bit different? Sometimes feel like people are always looking at you and thinking – WHY?! Well,  this is the book for you. Archie will give you your confidence back. He shows us how being different is a good thing, and sometimes your special traits are just what the doctor ordered.

Parents, if you feel like your child stands out from the pack and you want to show them to just be themselves, encourage them to borrow this book! I wish I could have read this book at about 10 years old when I realised that I wasn’t quite like all the other kids (Who knew that loving books and science and maths wouldn’t make me amazingly cool at 10 years old?).

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

